Smith Peterson Law Firm, LLP

Smith Peterson Law Firm, LLP
133 West Broadway
P.O. Box 249
Council Bluffs, IA 51503

Phone: (712) 328-1833
Fax: (712) 328-8320
Contact Us
Map and Directions

Steven H. Krohn

Steven H. Krohn

Council Bluffs, Iowa
(712) 328-8320

Admitted to bar: 1978, Iowa; 1983, Nebraska. Education: University of Nebraska at Lincoln, B.A. in Agriculture, with distinction, 1975; J.D., with distinction, 1978. Assistant editor of the Nebraska Law Review; Order of the Coif. Member: American Agricultural Law Association; American Bankruptcy Institute; Commercial and Bankruptcy Law Section Council, 1998 - present. Area of Practice: Bankruptcy law. Mr. Krohn has represented lenders, other creditors and debtors in civil litigation and bankruptcy proceedings since the late 1970s. Graduate of Leadership Council Bluffs, 1994. Member of the Council Bluffs Park, Recreation and Public Property Commission, 1994 - present; Director of Council Bluffs Library Foundation, 1994 - present.

Year Joined Firm

  • 1978

Areas of Practice

  • General Law

Bar Admissions

  • Iowa, 1978
  • Nebraska, 1983


  • University of Nebraska College of Law, Lincoln, Nebraska
    • J.D. - 1978
    • Honors: Order of the Coif
    • Honors: With Distinction
    • Law Review: University of Nebraska Law Review, Assistant Editor, 1977 - 1978
  • University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Nebraska
    • B.A. - 1975
    • Honors: With Distinction
    • Major: Agriculture

Representative Clients

  • Peoples National Bank
  • Bank Iowa


  • Peoples National Bank
  • Bank Iowa

Honors and Awards

  • Order of the Coif, 1978

Professional Associations and Memberships

  • Leadership Council Bluffs, Graduate, 1994
  • Council Bluffs Park, Recreation and Public Property Commission, Member, 1994 - Present
  • Director, Council Bluffs Library Foundation, Director, 1994 - Present

At the Council Bluffs, Iowa, law office of Smith Peterson, we represent clients in cities throughout Western Iowa and Eastern Nebraska in Pottawattamie County, Douglas County, Sarpy County, Mills County, Harrison County, Cass County, Carroll County, Crawford County, Fremont County, Audubon County, Woodbury County, and Shelby County, including Missouri Valley, Red Oak, Glenwood, Atlantic, Avoca, Harlan, and Omaha, Nebraska.


The determination of the need for legal services and the choice of a lawyer are extremely important decisions and should not be based solely upon advertisements or self-proclaimed expertise. This disclosure is required by rule of the Supreme Court of Iowa.

A description or indication of limitation of practice does not mean that any agency or board has certified such lawyer as a specialist or expert in an indicated field of law practice, nor does it mean that such lawyer is necessarily any more expert or competent than any other lawyer. All potential clients are urged to make their own independent investigation and evaluation of any lawyer being considered. This notice is required by rule of the Supreme Court of Iowa.